[Free Abandon Me] epub author Melissa Febos – mucid.me

characters Abandon Me

First her birth father who left her with only an inheritance of addiction and Native American blood its meaning a mystery As Febos tentatively reconnects she sees how both these lineages manifest in her own life marked by compulsion and an instinct for self erasure Meanwhile she remains closely tied to the sea captain who raised her his parenting ardent but intermittent as his work took him away for months at a time Woven throughout is the hypnotic story of an all consuming long distance love af Something about this book I just found incredible I found myself rearranging my entire life just to find the time to devote to reading itI don t think it s for everyone I don t expect everyone to read this and like it but I really really enjoyed it

characters ↠ PDF, DOC, TXT or eBook ↠ Melissa Febos

Abandon Me

For readers of Maggie Nelson and Leslie Jamison a fierce and dazzling personal narrative that explores the many ways identity and art are shaped by love and lossIn her critically acclaimed memoir Whip Smart Melissa Febos laid bare the intimate world of the professional dominatrix turning an honest examination of her life into a lyrical study of power desire and fulfillmentIn her dazzling Abandon Me Febos captures the intense bonds of love and the need for connection with family lovers and oneself I dislike writing negative reviews in particular for memoirs because I know firsthand how much vulnerability goes into this brave brutal genre And I appreciated Melissa Febos s vulnerability in Abandon Me as she describes lust love loss and a gamut of other emotions in a raw and honest way throughout the book Her essay Labyrinths slayed me with its intricate discussion of family mental illness and the importance of saving oneselfHowever I did not appreciate the glorification of the unhealthy and toxic romantic relationship in Abandon Me Though some may use words like passionate or exhilarating to describe the romance that pervades this book I would characterize it as emotional abuse for further reading ch

Melissa Febos ↠ 0 Download

Fair with a woman marked eually by worship and withdrawal In visceral erotic prose Febos captures their mutual abandonment to passion and obsession and the terror and exhilaration of losing herself in anotherAt once a fearlessly vulnerable memoir and an incisive investigation of art love and identity Abandon Me draws on childhood stories religion psychology mythology popular culture and the intimacies of one writer's life to reveal intellectual and emotional truths that feel startlingly universal I read this book with my hand clutched over my heart It is such an aching loving piece of art It chronicles enough elements of Febos s life that it is difficult to braid all the threads into one neat summary While so much of her story is fascinatingly uniue the book felt universal with the kind of insight that resonates bone deep Febos s writing is gorgeous I was truly blown away by the uality of the prose I wish I could read it for the first time again If you re interested in lyrical personal essay I would highly recommend


10 thoughts on “Abandon Me

  1. says:

    I thought maybe the book title was being nice and giving me a little hint that it was saying “abandon me” Believe me I thought about it But here’s why I stayed put One reviewer said it was sort of like The Chronology of Water it wasn

  2. says:

    Just the title of Melissa Febos memoirleft me with uestions I understood the subject ABANDONMENTbut Abandon Me depending on how it's said and framed can have different meanings I can't remember specifically reading a book about the affects of

  3. says:

    I dislike writing negative reviews in particular for memoirs because I know firsthand how much vulnerability goes into this

  4. says:

    The book covers disparate themes but all comes back to the subject of belonging Does the dangerous thing of letting me close the book feeling like I know her That's never true but it does signify a strength in her writing that makes you feel fully let in For fans of Maggie Nelson

  5. says:

    Something about this book I just found incredible I found myself rearranging my entire life just to find the time to devote to reading itI don't think it's for everyone I don't expect everyone to read this and like it but I really really enjoyed it

  6. says:

    “You’re not even hungry she’d say You can’t be But I was hungry For food for approval for secrets for my legs’ push against the ground for the ocean for words For none of these things at all but for the brief satisfaction of filling myself with them”What do we all have in common when it comes to love regardless of our s

  7. says:

    I read this book with my hand clutched over my heart It is such an aching loving piece of art It chronicles eno

  8. says:

    I read Whip Smart and didn't finish it I appreciated so much of it but the writing didn't carry me through Or it felt redundant Or it was the wrong time for me to read it Anyway when I found an ARC of Abandon Me I was intrigued but not keeling over with excitement I started the book that night and we were inseparable for days until

  9. says:

    How do I know a book deserves an automatic five star rating When I have eight pages of uotes in my journal EIGHTI could h

  10. says:

    While I appreciated Melissa’s candor and vulnerability I didn’t like her perspective on abusive relationships I think there’s value in reading memoirs being able to empathize with the authors and witnessing how they handle similar life obstacles But given to the wrong audience at the wrong time this book can carry a