Ebook [Self Made Man One Woman's Journey into Manhood and Back Again Norah Vincent] goddess

read Self Made Man One Woman's Journey into Manhood and Back Again

D back on what she observed incognito For than a year and a half she ventured into the world as Ned with an ever present five o'clock shadow a crew cut wire rim glasses and her own size 11 12 shoes a perfect disguise that enabled her to observe the world of men as an insider The result is a sympathetic shrewd and thrilling tour de force of immersion journalism that's destined to challenge preconceptions and attract enormous attention With her buddies on the bowling league she enjoyed the rough and rewarding embrace of male camaraderie undetectable to an outsider A stint in a high octane sales job taught her the gut wrenching pressures While it s clear that Vincent likely carries lifetime subscriptions to Bust and Ms and carries a certain generational badge in her feminism I find the book useful for its willingness to cross what I ve always considered the last frontier of feminism getting past the us v them and moving however slowly towards a mutually understandable social world Her insights into the infinitesimally small ways in which we cue gender in social settings are fascinating reading and the gradual opening of her worldview shows than anything the true impact of her experience Well worth a read for anyone who wants to see how feminism is evolving and for women just plain curious about how the other half lives

summary ↠ eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF ´ Norah Vincent

Self Made Man One Woman's Journey into Manhood and Back Again

Endured by men who would do anything to succeed She freuented sex clubs dated women hungry for love but bitter about men and infiltrated all male communities as hermetically sealed as a men's therapy group and even a monastery Narrated in her utterly captivating prose style and with exuisite insight humor empathy nuance and at great personal cost Norah uses her intimate firsthand experience to explore the many remarkable mysteries of gender identity as well as who men are apart from and in relation to women Far from becoming bitter or outraged Vincent ended her journey astounded and exhausted by the rigid codes and rituals of masculini I love this book I have read it over twice now and I know I will re read it often The situation is that the author begins a uest to learn about what it is like to be a person of the opposite sex Don t we all wonder about this at least occasionally Don t men and women often shake their heads in total bewilderment of the curious unfathomable even bizarre and seemingly irrational behaviors thoughts and feelings of whatever sex you are not Wouldn t you like to understand or at least be able to decipher the amazing creatures whose bodies are strange and different and who act in incomprehensible ways Well I do And this book answers the uestion for me of what men are REALLY like when women aren t around This book is so much fun to read Norah Vincent has the guts and the curiosity and the sensitivity to pull off this amazing disguise You won t believe until she tells you in great detail but she is actually able to assemble a disguise that enables her to be totally accepted as a man and I mean to the extent that she is able to infiltrate a men s bowling league the dating scene a high pressure job that will sound familiar to those of us who have seen the movie Glengarry Glen Ross an Iron John type of men s retreat and a monastary But this isn t just a parlor trick The author is acutely sensitive and compassionate with an eye for detail and a heart full of wisdom She brings new understanding to us women about how men live and how they deal with their emotional pain It is a sympathetic humorous well written and enlightening book one of the most enjoyable reads I ve had in a long time Go read it right now

Norah Vincent ´ 8 characters

Having gone where no woman who wasn't an aspiring or actual transsexual has gone for any significant length of time let alone eighteen months Norah Vincent's surprising account is an enthralling reading experience and a revelatory piece of anecdotally based gender analysis that is sure to spark fierce and fascinating conversationA journalist's provocative spellbinding account of her eighteen months spent undercover will transform the way we think about what it means to be a man Following in the tradition of John Howard Griffin Black Like Me and Barbara Ehrenreich Nickel and Dimed Norah Vincent absorbed a cultural experience and reporte This book infuriated me I would like to give it negative 3 stars Unfortunately that s not possibleVincent makes broad generalizations about various groups of people based on their gender race and class I found her perspective to be incredibly elitist and classist her analysis of her experience living as a man is deeply rooted in her unexamined privilege as a middle class non disabled white womanMy fury kept me from completing this book The final straw came when she disgustedly referred to a potential date with the slur liminally autistic I literally threw the book across the roomRead it if you want to of course Just know I thought this book was offensive trash


10 thoughts on “Self Made Man One Woman's Journey into Manhood and Back Again

  1. says:

    A transphobic tirade masuerading as feminist adventure story That was my first thought of what to say about this book to highlight its most serious problems but of course there's to it than just that Vincent a conservative lesbian according to answerscom is a skilled narrator with a seductively casual style which she unfortunately uses to thread her tale with dubious normative and essentialistic asides Reading her sympathetic desc

  2. says:

    Norah Vincent unfortunately does no such thing And that is the irritating thing about this book When she is specific talking specifically about what she experienced and the stories she is told by the men she interacted with it's pretty darn good But then every time she extrapolates from that to tell us about how what she experienced is what all men experience Keep it small and personal and let your readers draw their

  3. says:

    This book infuriated me I would like to give it negative 3 stars Unfortunately that's not possibleVincent makes broad generalization

  4. says:

    This is a proper three star book It is enjoyable but lacks the distinction or pleasure factor that would elevate its rating higher The most interesting part was her interaction with the monks The author cross dresses etc to be a man among men not for the thrill of 'passing' as it were She doesn't either entirely succeed or convince The book

  5. says:

    Reading other people's reviews on Goodreads I pretty much agree with what most other people have to say at least the moderates among them However I will say this it seems that the people that disliked the book and wrote reviews about it didn't throughly read the book In particular they did not read the end of the first chapter where Norah has

  6. says:

    While it's clear that Vincent likely carries lifetime subscriptions to Bust and Ms and carries a certain generational badge in her feminism I find the book useful for its willingness to cross what I've always considered the

  7. says:

    Imagine you're able to pass as the oppossite sex At work in a club when you're roaming the streets That would be intriguing exciting yet odd and scary at the same time What would you do What would you like to find out Where would you start Norah Vincent made it happen with the idea of studying men among their own their interaction

  8. says:

    I love this book I have read it over twice now and I know I will re read it often The situation is that the author begins a uest to learn about what it is like to be a person of the opposite sex Don't we all wond

  9. says:

    Full disclosure I've cross dressed once I passed I didn't change any of my mannerisms or jewelry I wore my regular glasses and my regular jeans People see what they expect to see Wish I could upload the photo so you could see it tooIn regard to Norah Vincent's Self Made Man let's begin by saying girlfriend has issues While she was

  10. says:

    Very interesting book A New York liberal lesbian feminist takes on the role of a man to see what men are all about As Ned she joins a bowling team works selling merchandise in a high pressure sales job visits strip